2010 Full Suits

Back to Billabong Pro Mundaka...

By Press Release:



Billabong Pro Mundaka
(October 2 – 14)

See the event LIVE on www.aspworldtour.com or www.billabongpro.com


Kelly defeating fellow American Cory Lopez. If Kelly wins this event he will be the New World Champion, making it his 8th Title. Picture Credit ASP Tostee
Kelly defeating fellow American Cory Lopez. If Kelly wins this event he will be the New World Champion, making it his 8th Title. Picture Credit ASP Tostee

MUNDAKA, Basque Country, Northern Spain (Thursday, October 12, 2006) – With the tides yet again affecting the conditions at Mundaka, organisers of the Billabong Pro have decided to move the event 15 minutes drive south to the beach breaks of Bakio.

The location, while nowhere near as incredible as its neighbour Mundaka is however much more open to swell and can produce some quality peaks that will provide an adequate platform on which the world’s best on the Foster’s ASP Men’s World Tour can show their wares.

The aim is to retstart the event at 12 noon then complete the remaining three heats of round three.

Conditions will then be reassessed back at Mundaka with the hope that there will be enough quality to contest round four.

The pressure is beginning to mount as there are three days left in the official waiting period and over a day needed to complete the event. But since the tides affect the region so dramatically, there will be a push to run in anything reasonably contestable.

If round four continues today all eyes will be focussed on the race for the Foster’s ASP Men’s World Tour crown with Kelly Slater in the box seat.

On his heels are Taj Burrow (AUS), Andy Irons (HAW), Mick Fanning (AUS) and Joel Parkinson (AUS).

And with a move to the unpredictable beach breaks luck will play a much greater factor in deciding heat results.

Stay tuned to www.billabongpro.com or www.aspworldtour.com for all the updates and to watch every heat LIVE!

Remaining round three heats:
Heat 14: Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Heat 15: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 16: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs Michael Lowe (AUS)

Round four heat draw so far: (1st to Quarterfinals 2nd receives equal 9th place and 600 ratings points)

Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 2: Victor Ribas (BRA) vs Mick Fanning (AUS)
Heat 3: Pancho Sullivan (HAW) vs Tom Whitaker (AUS)
Heat 4: Cory Lopez (USA) vs Kelly Slater (USA)
Heat 5: Andy Irons (HAW) vs Trent Munro (AUS)
Heat 6: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs Phil MacDonald (AUS)
Heat 7: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs TBC
Heat 8: TBC


APS WCT Tour 2010 Schedule

Mens's Division

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast Qld-Australia
Rip Curl Pro Bells
March 30 -April 10, Bells Beach Victoria-Australia
Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro
April 23-May 2, Santa Catarina Brazil
Billabong Pro J-Bay
Jly 15-25, Jeffreys Bay South Africa
Billabong Pro Teahupoo
Aug 23 - Sept 3, Teahupoo Taiarapu-Tahiti
Hurley Pro Trestles
Sep 12-21, Trestles California-USA
Quiksilver Pro France
Sep 25-Oct 5, South West Coast France
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-18, Peniche, Portugal
Rip Curl Pro Search
Oct 30-Nov. 10 - Somewhere?
Billabong Pipeline Masters
Dec 8-20, Banzai Pipeline Oahu-Hawaii

Women's Division

Roxy Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Rip Curl Women's Pro Bells
Mar 30-April 10, Bells Beach Victoria, Australia
TSB Bank Women's Surf Festival
Apr 11-16 Taranaki – New Zealand
Commonwealth Bank Beachly Classic
Apr 21-26, Dee Why,Northern Beaches, NSW-Australia
Movistar Peru Classic presented by Rip Curl
June 8-13, Lobitos-Peru
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-11, Peniche-Portugal
Rip Curl Search
Oct 30-Nov 4, Somewhere
Gidget Pro
Nov 24-Dec 6, Sunset Beach Oahu, Hawaii
Billabong Pro Maui
Dec 8-20 Honolua Bay, Maui, Hawaii

Pro Surfing Archives

Pro Surfing 2009 |Pro Surfing 2008 | Pro Surfing 2007 | Pro Surfing 2006