2010 Full Suits

Sunday 4 June, 2006

Association of Surfing Professionals International (ASP)
Coolangatta, Queensland, Australia


Layne Beachley
Layne Beachley Photo credit: ASP Tostee

Sydney, Australia will host its first women’s standalone world championship surfing event in 10 years when the inaugural Beachley Surf Classic, the sixth of eight events on the 2006 ASP Women’s World Tour, takes to Manly Beach in October.

The tournament, founded by six-time world champion and current world number two Layne Beachley (AUS), is the richest in the 29-year history of the women’s professional tour. The event will be held at Beachley’s home break.

Sanctioned by the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), the event will feature the world’s top 17 ranked female surfers plus a wildcard surfer and offer a USD$100,000 prize-purse.

“I am really thrilled that we will be competing for the richest prize purse in women’s surfing history at my home break,” said Beachley.

“This event will bring an ASP Women’s World Tour event back to a spot it belongs – Sydney.”

The Beachley Surf Classic, which will run from 9 October to 15 October, has been made possible courtesy of additional funding from the New South Wales state government.

“We are incredibly excited that the NSW Government has come on board to support and to make happen this very important and timely tournament,” said Beachley.

“NSW is in the forefront of women’s surfing and the sport is enjoying unprecedented growth and popularity here and across the world – from youngsters to the young at heart.”

Manly Beach will serve as the event’s headquarters, but will have the option to travel to beaches as far north as Narrabeen depending on wave conditions.

“The Classic will showcase the best surfers on the planet, inspire enthusiasts everywhere, generate international exposure and have a major bearing on the 2006 world title race,” said Beachley.

Reigning world champion Chelsea Georgeson (AUS) and current ratings leader Melanie Redman-Carr (AUS) will head a field of contenders hailing from the USA, Brazil, Hawaii, Peru, South Africa and Australia.

Former world champions Pam Burridge (AUS) and Pauline Menczer (AUS) are expected to compete in a 12-woman trials event that will determine the winner of a wildcard berth into the main event.



Main Event Competitors
-The Top 17 ranked women surfers in the world.
-Nine from Australia: Chelsea Georgeson, Layne Beachley, Melanie Redman-Carr, Samantha Cornish, Claire Bevilacqua, Trudy Todd, Jessi Miley-Dyer, Rebecca Woods, Serena Brooke.
-Four from USA/Hawaii: Julia Christian, Rochelle Ballard, Keala Kennelly, Megan Abubo.
-Two from Brazil: Silvana Lima, Jacqueline Silva
-One from Peru: Sofia Mulanovich
-One from South Africa: Heather Clark

Trials Competitors
-The winner of the 12-person trials event will earn the lone wildcard spot into the main event.
-The 12 trialists will be drawn from Australia, Japan, South Africa, France, USA, New Zealand
-The 1990 ASP World Champion and six-time title runner-up Pam Burridge of Manly, will be among the competitors, as will 1993 world champion and 18-year tour veteran Pauline Menczer (AUS).


-The richest women’s surfing event ever – the event offers a US$100,000 – the largest purse ever in the 29-year history of the women’s professional tour.
-The sixth ASP Women’s World Championship tournament of the 2006 season
-Sanctioned by the Association of Surfing Professionals.
-The first standalone women’s world title event in New South Wales, Australia in 10 years.
-One of only two ASP Women’s World Tour events held in Australia in 2006.


-Manly Beach, Sydney
-Competition venues to range from Fairy Bower to North Steyne to Queenscliff. The event can go to beaches further north, depending on wave conditions.


-Monday 9 October to Sunday 15 October, 2006


-A Trials of 12 surfers across four rounds to determine the winner of the Wildcard berth.
-Main event consists of six rounds involving 18 competitors, cascading to a Final featuring the last two competitors.


-The ASP Women’s World Tour started in 1977.
-The ASP Tour will come to Australia from a tournament in France.
-After the Beachley Surf Classic, the tour will go to Hawaii for the final two tournaments of the season.
-Layne Beachley holds the record for most women’s event victories – 28, followed by fellow Australians Wendy Botha with 24 and Pam Burridge with 20.


APS WCT Tour 2010 Schedule

Mens's Division

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast Qld-Australia
Rip Curl Pro Bells
March 30 -April 10, Bells Beach Victoria-Australia
Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro
April 23-May 2, Santa Catarina Brazil
Billabong Pro J-Bay
Jly 15-25, Jeffreys Bay South Africa
Billabong Pro Teahupoo
Aug 23 - Sept 3, Teahupoo Taiarapu-Tahiti
Hurley Pro Trestles
Sep 12-21, Trestles California-USA
Quiksilver Pro France
Sep 25-Oct 5, South West Coast France
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-18, Peniche, Portugal
Rip Curl Pro Search
Oct 30-Nov. 10 - Somewhere?
Billabong Pipeline Masters
Dec 8-20, Banzai Pipeline Oahu-Hawaii

Women's Division

Roxy Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Rip Curl Women's Pro Bells
Mar 30-April 10, Bells Beach Victoria, Australia
TSB Bank Women's Surf Festival
Apr 11-16 Taranaki – New Zealand
Commonwealth Bank Beachly Classic
Apr 21-26, Dee Why,Northern Beaches, NSW-Australia
Movistar Peru Classic presented by Rip Curl
June 8-13, Lobitos-Peru
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-11, Peniche-Portugal
Rip Curl Search
Oct 30-Nov 4, Somewhere
Gidget Pro
Nov 24-Dec 6, Sunset Beach Oahu, Hawaii
Billabong Pro Maui
Dec 8-20 Honolua Bay, Maui, Hawaii

Pro Surfing Archives

Pro Surfing 2009 |Pro Surfing 2008 | Pro Surfing 2007 | Pro Surfing 2006