2010 Full Suits



Ocean City, New Jersey USA
August 5 – 6, 2006


Sterling Spencer Picture Credit ASP Tostee
OCEAN CITY, NEW JERSEY (Saturday, August 5th, 2006) – Small 1-foot surf greeted North America’s standout juniors this morning at day one of the Oakley Pro Junior presented by Heritage Surf and Sport.

Held in the punchy beachbreaks at 7th Street Beach in Ocean City, New Jersey, the Oakley Pro Junior, a $10,000 Grade-2 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) North America Pro Junior event, featured the region’s top junior competitors all vying for one of four coveted spots into the ASP $60,000 World Junior Championships in Australia next January.

Sterling Spencer Picture Credit ASP Tostee

Evan Geiselman (New Smyrna Beach, FL), 12, blew past the much-older competition in his Round of 48 heat this afternoon. Geiselman’s light frame excelled through the smaller conditions advancing the young goofy-footer to the Round of 32 where he will face older brother Eric, the current ratings-leader on this season’s ASP Pro Junior series.

Blake Jones (Melbourne Beach, FL), current No. 8 on this season’s ASP Pro Junior series, advanced through two heats today despite the difficult conditions.

“Oh man, it is basically flat out there today,” Jones said. “It’s really difficult and guys are getting through heats with 2.90’s (out of 20’s). It’s more or less ankle-high.”

Jones, who has drawn current No. 2 Sterling Spencer (Pensacola, FL) in the next round, understands what a result at the Oakley Pro Junior can do for his ranking as he attempts to crack the top four.

“A win here would be huge,” Jones said. “I would love it. It would give me a huge bump in the ratings. The last, and only, time I surfed against Sterling (Spencer) was in the finals at the Billabong Pro Junior in Sebastian earlier this year – he won that one.”

Cory Arrambide (Ventura, CA), current No. 4 on this season’s ASP Pro Junior series, rounded out today’s action with a convincing win in the final heat of the day. Arrambide will attempt to stave off current No. 6 Nick Rozsa (Oxnard, CA) in his Round of 32 heat tomorrow morning.

Action will re-convene tomorrow morning with the top seeds hit the water for Round 4 and will run through the finals.

Daily press releases and results will be available at www.aspnorthamerica.org.


Day 1
Round 1: 72 competitors left (1st and 2nd advance)
Heat 1: Dane Ward (USA) 7.67, Brett Barley (USA) 5.26, Dewey Cunnison (USA) 4.33, Dalton Johnson (USA) 2.73
Heat 2: Balaram Stack (USA) 7.87, Kevin Defoney (USA) 5.94, Sean Santiago (USA) 3.80, Bo Hickey (USA) 1.07
Heat 3: Scott Hammonds (USA) 2.83, Brandon Ragenovich (USA) 2.63, Colin Abel (USA) 2.13, Sean Lewis (USA) 2.10
Heat 4: Jon Pelton (USA) 3.50, Kekoa Cazimero (HAW) 1.83, Pete Mochotka (USA) 1.67, Shane Matthews (USA) 0.93

Round 2: 64 competitors left (1st and 2nd advance)
Heat 1: Diego Gelain (USA) 14.67, Cody Thompson (USA) 7.17, TJ Giumela (USA) 3.77, Dane Ward (USA) 0.97
Heat 2: Ian Ekberg (USA) 9.77, Sean Olegar (USA) 6.93, Brett Barley (USA) 5.60, Michael Dumphy (USA) 5.04
Heat 3: Colin Schildhauer (USA) 7.53, Balaram Stack (USA) 6.33, Nick Bland (USA) 4.67, Fisher Heverly (USA) 2.47
Heat 4: Kevin Defoney (USA) 5.33, Ricky Whitlock (USA) 4.40, Casey Landvogt (USA) 1.76, Kevin Kapsy (USA) 1.27
Heat 5: Blake Jones (USA) 5.83, Brent Reilly (USA) 5.66, Scott Hammonds (USA) 1.34, Pat Cahill (USA) 1.13
Heat 6: Brandon Ragenovich (USA) 11.33, Hunter Heverly (USA) 4.37, Eddie Lester (USA) 2.53, Mike Cao (USA) 0.00
Heat 7: Shane Murray (USA) 9.10, JC Toro (USA) 9.00, Jon Pelton (USA) 5.40, Leif Engstrom (USA) 3.80
Heat 8: Trevor Saunders (USA) 11.00, Kekoa Cazimero (HAW) 4.27, Shey Yates (USA) 1.00, Devon Ayers (USA) 0.00

Round 3: 48 competitors left (1st and 2nd advance)
Heat 1: Diego Gelain (USA) 8.96, Cody Thompson (USA) 4.07, Caleb Johnston (USA) 3.57, Phillip Goold (USA) 3.56
Heat 2: Ben McKenzie (USA) 9.10, Ian Ekberg (USA) 8.60, Ben Graeff (USA) 6.46, Sean Olegar (USA) 3.30
Heat 3: Kris Wiernicki (USA) 7.77, Chris Ropero (USA) 6.03, Balaram Stack (USA) 6.00, Colin Schildhauer (USA) 1.07
Heat 4: Evan Geiselman (USA) 6.10, Marshall Alberga (USA) 4.60, Ricky Whitlock (USA) 4.60, Kevin Defoney (USA) 4.50
Heat 5: Jake Kirshenbaum (USA) 11.07, Blake Jones (USA) 6.94, Nick Blunda (USA) 4.46, Brent Reilly (USA) 2.67
Heat 6: Ben Powell (USA) 7.67, Brandon Ragenovich (USA) 7.50, Sean Tubbs (USA) 6.83, Hunter Heverly (USA) 4.73
Heat 7: Michael Powell (USA) 10.50, Shane Murray (USA) 8.04, JC Toro (USA) 7.26, Nick Evancich (USA) 2.56
Heat 8: Cory Arrambide (USA) 12.33, Trevor Saunders (USA) 6.94, Kekoa Cazimero (HAW) 5.87, Ian Bloch (USA) 3.67


APS WCT Tour 2010 Schedule

Mens's Division

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast Qld-Australia
Rip Curl Pro Bells
March 30 -April 10, Bells Beach Victoria-Australia
Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro
April 23-May 2, Santa Catarina Brazil
Billabong Pro J-Bay
Jly 15-25, Jeffreys Bay South Africa
Billabong Pro Teahupoo
Aug 23 - Sept 3, Teahupoo Taiarapu-Tahiti
Hurley Pro Trestles
Sep 12-21, Trestles California-USA
Quiksilver Pro France
Sep 25-Oct 5, South West Coast France
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-18, Peniche, Portugal
Rip Curl Pro Search
Oct 30-Nov. 10 - Somewhere?
Billabong Pipeline Masters
Dec 8-20, Banzai Pipeline Oahu-Hawaii

Women's Division

Roxy Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Rip Curl Women's Pro Bells
Mar 30-April 10, Bells Beach Victoria, Australia
TSB Bank Women's Surf Festival
Apr 11-16 Taranaki – New Zealand
Commonwealth Bank Beachly Classic
Apr 21-26, Dee Why,Northern Beaches, NSW-Australia
Movistar Peru Classic presented by Rip Curl
June 8-13, Lobitos-Peru
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-11, Peniche-Portugal
Rip Curl Search
Oct 30-Nov 4, Somewhere
Gidget Pro
Nov 24-Dec 6, Sunset Beach Oahu, Hawaii
Billabong Pro Maui
Dec 8-20 Honolua Bay, Maui, Hawaii

Pro Surfing Archives

Pro Surfing 2009 |Pro Surfing 2008 | Pro Surfing 2007 | Pro Surfing 2006