2010 Full Suits

By Press Release

Surfer Poll 2006


Stars of Surf, Screen and Action Sports to Unite

DANA POINT, Calif., September 5, 2006- For the first time ever; SURFER Magazine, the industry-leading publication published by PRIMEDIA Inc., will webcast the 2006 SURFER Poll and Video Awards presented by Suzuki Automotive live from The Grove in Anaheim on www.surfermag.com/surferpollwebcast/ from 6:00 pm- 10:00 pm, Tuesday, September 12, 2006. The live webcast will include red carpet interviews, behind- the- scenes footage and the entire awards show. Dubbed the Oscar's of the surf world, this year's event will bring out the "who's who" of athletes, celebrities, industry insiders and more than 2,000 expected guests. For the fourth consecutive year, Fuel TV will telecast the 2006 SURFER Poll in a one-hour television special. Check www.fuel.tv for airdates and times.

The SURFER Poll will once again be hosted by E! Entertainment correspondent and X Games personality Sal Masekela. The top contenders for the men's poll award are 2005 poll winner and seven time world champ Kelly Slater, 2005's second place poll winner Andy Irons and current U.S. Open winner Rob Machado. Other nominees include: CJ Hobgood, Damien Hobgood, Mick Fanning, Bobby Martinez, and Taj Burrow. Women's nominees include: Lisa Anderson, Sofia Mulanovich and Layne Beachley.

Pro surfer and entertainment personality Peter King will host the Video Awards, given in nine categories. A sneak peek into a few of the nominees, include: Damien Hobgood from "Secret Machine" for "Best Tube," Andy Irons from "Campaign 2" for "Best Male Performance," Chelsea Georgeson from "Shimmer" for "Best Female Performance." The highlight of the Video Awards is the "Movie of the Year" which includes "1st Chapter: Dane Reynolds," "The Secret Machine" and "Flow."

Other Video Award categories are: the "Heavy Water Award" presented by Corona, "Photo of the Year," "Worst Wipeout," "Best Cinematography," "Breakthrough Filmmaker," "Best Documentary" and the highly regarded "Boost Breakthrough Performer of the Year." Previous winners of the "Boost Breakthrough Performer of the Year" award have been Bruce Irons and Jamie O'Brien. The 2006 presenters for the SURFER Poll include pro skateboarding legend Tony Hawk and Ultimate Fighters BJ Penn and Rampage. During the show guests will be treated to an acoustic performance by pro surfer and musician Timmy Curran accompanied by Chris Shiflett of Foo Fighters and Dave Kennedy of Angels and Airwaves.

Thanks to presenting sponsor Suzuki Automotive, co-sponsors Boost Mobile, Corona and media sponsor FUEL TV for their contributions to make this event happen.

About Suzuki
The Brea, Calif.-based Automotive Operations of American Suzuki Motor Corporation (ASMC) was founded in 1985 by parent company Suzuki Motor Corporation (SMC) and currently markets its vehicles in the United States through a network of more than 520 automotive dealerships in 49 states. Based in Hamamatsu, Japan, SMC is a diversified worldwide automobile, motorcycle and outboard motor manufacturer with sales of more than two million new vehicles annually. Founded in 1909 and incorporated in 1920, SMC has operations in 125 countries. For more information, visit www.media.suzukiauto.com.

Upon its inception in 1960, SURFER Magazine brought a unity of voice and vision to an otherwise niche and fragmented sport. Today, the original surf publication is widely recognized as the "Bible of the Sport" and the driving force in the surf world, reaching more surfers worldwide than any other surf magazine. SURFER is part of PRIMEDIA's Action Sports Group (ASG) that reaches more than 2 million active sports enthusiasts through an integrated network of magazines, online properties, events and television programming.


APS WCT Tour 2010 Schedule

Mens's Division

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast Qld-Australia
Rip Curl Pro Bells
March 30 -April 10, Bells Beach Victoria-Australia
Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro
April 23-May 2, Santa Catarina Brazil
Billabong Pro J-Bay
Jly 15-25, Jeffreys Bay South Africa
Billabong Pro Teahupoo
Aug 23 - Sept 3, Teahupoo Taiarapu-Tahiti
Hurley Pro Trestles
Sep 12-21, Trestles California-USA
Quiksilver Pro France
Sep 25-Oct 5, South West Coast France
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-18, Peniche, Portugal
Rip Curl Pro Search
Oct 30-Nov. 10 - Somewhere?
Billabong Pipeline Masters
Dec 8-20, Banzai Pipeline Oahu-Hawaii

Women's Division

Roxy Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Rip Curl Women's Pro Bells
Mar 30-April 10, Bells Beach Victoria, Australia
TSB Bank Women's Surf Festival
Apr 11-16 Taranaki – New Zealand
Commonwealth Bank Beachly Classic
Apr 21-26, Dee Why,Northern Beaches, NSW-Australia
Movistar Peru Classic presented by Rip Curl
June 8-13, Lobitos-Peru
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-11, Peniche-Portugal
Rip Curl Search
Oct 30-Nov 4, Somewhere
Gidget Pro
Nov 24-Dec 6, Sunset Beach Oahu, Hawaii
Billabong Pro Maui
Dec 8-20 Honolua Bay, Maui, Hawaii

Pro Surfing Archives

Pro Surfing 2009 |Pro Surfing 2008 | Pro Surfing 2007 | Pro Surfing 2006