<-- Pro Surfing News

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 2 ON at Teahupoo, Round 3 on Standby :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

Yadin Nicol (AUS), 26, will take on Miguel Pupo (BRA), 20, in the elimination Round 2 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

Yadin Nicol (AUS), 26, will take on Miguel Pupo (BRA), 20, in the elimination Round 2 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

TEAHUPO?O, Taiarapu/Tahiti (Friday, August 17, 2012) ? The Billabong Pro Tahiti has been called back on this morning with Round 2 of competition recommencing at 7:15am in clean three-to-four foot (1 – 1.5 metre) waves at Teahupo’o.

Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti completed Round 1 and the opening two heats of Round 2 yesterday in shifty barrels at the world’s most infamous lefthander, and improved conditions today will see the world’s best back in the water for another full day of competition.

“Conditions have cleaned up a fair bit today and we’ll be recommencing competition at 7:15am,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We anticipate completing the remaining 10 heats of Round 2 and have put Round 3 on standby for a possible start this afternoon. Good luck to all our competitors.”

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti are calling for longer period SW swell to ease today with mostly 5? faces (head high) and occasional sets running up to 6?+ and even a touch bigger in the morning. Local south windswell easing and local wind direction improving so surf gradually cleaning up.

Up first this morning will be Julian Wilson (AUS), 23, and Willian Cardoso (BRA), 26, in the Heat 3 of Round 2.

The Billabong Pro Tahiti will webcast LIVE via http://www.billabongpro.com

For more information, log onto www.ASPWorldTour.com

The Billabong Pro, Tahiti is made possible with the valued support of international partners Air Tahiti Nui, Sony, Xperia Sony Smartphone and Red Bull, along with our friends at Nixon, VonZipper, Mana and Hyundai.

Heat 3:
Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 4: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 5: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 6: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 7: Tiago Pires (PRT) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 8: Miguel Pupo (BRA) vs. Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 10: Brett Simpson (USA) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 12: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives