<-- Pro Surfing News

Lay Day Called for Billabong Pro Tahiti :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

Julian Wilson (AUS), 23, will take on compatriot Adrian Buchan (AUS), 29, in Heat 2 of Round 3 at the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

Julian Wilson (AUS), 23, will take on compatriot Adrian Buchan (AUS), 29, in Heat 2 of Round 3 at the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

TEAHUPO’O, Taiarapu/Tahiti (Saturday, August 18, 2012) – A lay day has been called for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, with only inconsistent, two-to-three foot (1 metre) waves on offer at Teahupo’o this morning.

Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour season, the Billabong Pro Tahiti has completed the opening two rounds of competition and will resume when conditions improve.

“Fairly small out here today and the inconsistency is the real issue,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “The models are predicting a slight increase over the coming days and we’ll monitor conditions and make another call tomorrow morning.”

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7am start.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti are calling for tomorrow to see pulsey and lully southerly swell mix continues in the 4-5’ range on the face for the sets with a slight building trend in the afternoon and very occasional/inconsistent larger sets to 6’ on the face.

When competition resumes, up first will be two-time ASP World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 1 Mick Fanning (AUS), 31, up against Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 30, in the opening heat of Round 3.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Tahiti will be available via http://www.billabongpro.com

For more information, log onto www.ASPWorldTour.com

The Billabong Pro, Tahiti is made possible with the valued support of international partners Air Tahiti Nui, Sony, Xperia Sony Smartphone and Red Bull, along with our friends at Nixon, VonZipper, Mana and Hyundai.

Heat 1:
Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Kai Ottonn (AUS)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives