<-- Pro Surfing News

Third Consecutive Lay Day Called for Billabong Pro Tahiti :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

Jeremy Flores (FRA), 24, last year's recipient of the coveted Andy Irons Forever Award, will face Heitor Alves (BRA), 30, in Round 3 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

Jeremy Flores (FRA), 24, last year’s recipient of the coveted Andy Irons Forever Award, will face Heitor Alves (BRA), 30, in Round 3 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

TEAHUPO’O, Taiarapu/Tahiti (Monday, August 20, 2012) – Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti, has called it’s third, consecutive lay day today off for the day with only small waves and unfavorable winds on offer at Teahupo’o.

“There’s been a modest bump in swell this morning but the wind is not cooperating for us,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We’re tracking a system towards the back end of the waiting period that looks like it will deliver solid surf, but we’ll be back each day to assess conditions and make an appropriate call then.”

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7am start.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti are calling for tomorrow to see SSW swell leftovers and shorter period SW swell mix with weak waves in the 3-4’ range on the face (waist-shoulder high).

When competition resumes, up first will be two-time ASP World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 1 Mick Fanning (AUS), 31, up against Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 30, in the opening heat of Round 3.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Tahiti will be available via http://www.billabongpro.com

For more information, log onto www.ASPWorldTour.com

The Billabong Pro, Tahiti is made possible with the valued support of international partners Air Tahiti Nui, Sony, Xperia Sony Smartphone and Red Bull, along with our friends at Nixon, VonZipper, Mana and Hyundai.

Heat 1:
Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Kai Ottonn (AUS)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives