Home | Surf Contest | ASP 2008 | ASP WCT Men's World Tour | Billabong Pipeline Masters

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast Surf Contest 2008BILLABONG PIPELINE MASTERS 2008

WCT Event #11
December 8-20, 2008
Banzai Pipeline: North Shore, Oahu, Hawaii, USA

"Keep The North Shore Country"

2010 Full Suits

BILLABONG PIPELINE MASTERS 2008 Surf Contest Headlines
Hawaii Surf Trip

Kelly Slater Wins The 2008 Pipeline Masters for The 6th Time!

Friday, Dec. 12, 2008 – Nine-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) has won the Billabong Pipeline Masters a record sixth time today. The victory is Slater’s sixth of the 11 event 2008 ASP World Tour season.

"It's inexplicable,” Slater said of his win and banner season. “I'm just stoked. I wasn't even worried about surfing the event, so to surf it and win and get that board (a Gerry Lopez designed surfboard trophy). I'll cherish that for sure."

Slater has made the Pipeline Masters final 10 out of the 17 times he has entered the event; winning in 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1999 and again today. His 2008 win comes nine years after he last clinched the Pipeline crown in ‘99. More Billabong Pro Pipeline Masters...

2008 Pipeline Masters Final Highlights Video
More Surfing Videos on ProSurfing.com

Billabong Pipeline Masters Day 2 Highlights
Find more videos like this on ProSurfing.com

Billabong Pipeline Masters Day 1 Highlings:

Find more videos like this on ProSurfing.com

Find more surfing photos like this on Pro Surfing .com
Billabong Pipeline Masters Teaser

Billabong Pipeline Masters on ProSurfing.com

Pipeline Masters 1991: Tom Carroll

Tom Carroll just destroying Pipe during the 1991 Pipe Masters. He scored 2 perfect 10's in the final. The video includes the legendary open face "Snap" he did . Might be the heaviest manuever ever done on the face of a wave.This was his 3rd win at Pipe.


COORDINATES: 21º40’ N, 158º03’ W

BAGGAGE CLAIM: Honolulu International Airport, Honolulu (HNL)

TRANSPORTATION: Rental car, without question. The famed seven-mile miracle of Oahu’s North Shore is a good 45 minute drive from town. Once you’re out there though, a good bicycle and friendly smile is usually all you need.

ATTITUDE: Pipeline is the powder keg of the surfing world. Surfers from hundreds of countries travel here to prove their moxie in the caverns of Pipe. With the inundation of surfers in the line-up, the take off zone makes for some volatile situations. Be advised: if you venture to Pipe, be prepared to do battle – not just with the sea, but with your fellow surfers.

THE WAVE: Exploding tubes over shallow lava reef and sand. For decades, Pipe has been considered the most dangerous wave on the planet and shows no sign of slowing down. However, great risk yields great reward, and it’s not uncommon to hear the phrase “best wave of my life” thrown around in the lineup and on the beach.

PERKS: Guts for Glory. People make their entire careers out of surfing the Pipeline. Make your mark on this wave, and you’ll go down in surfing lore.

PERILS: Shallow reefs, crowded line-ups, massive locals and an occasional cameo by Jaws.

APRES SURF: Big Hawaiians throw Big Parties. There’s always something going on. Pick up some snacks and beverages at Kammieland, and head down to the nearest BBQ – make sure you know someone there though.

ASP WORLD TOUR HISTORY: Although hosted by a slew of sponsors over the years, the ASP World Tour event at Pipe will be hosted by surfwear giant Billabong in 2007. Expect the boys at Billabong to pull out all the stops this season as they dig their teeth into one of the most prestigious events on the planet. The venue has played host to a number of ASP World Title showdowns and is never short on action.

NOTABLE: Pipeline is held (by many) with as much reverence as the ASP World Title itself. The history of the place, combined with the sheer ferocity of the wave, makes winnning the Pipemasters a career highlight.

2007: Bede Durbidge (AUS)
2006: Andy Irons (HAW)
2005: Andy Irons (HAW)
2004: Jamie O’Brien (HAW)
2003: Andy Irons (HAW)
2002: Andy Irons (HAW)
2001: Bruce Irons (HAW)
2000: Rob Machado (USA)
1999: Kelly Slater (USA)
1998: Jake Paterson (AUS)
1997: Johnny-Boy Gomes (HAW)
1996: Kelly Slater (USA)
1995: Kelly Slater (USA)
1994: Kelly Slater (USA)
1993: Derek Ho (HAW)
1992: Kelly Slater (USA)
1991: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1990: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1989: Gary Elkerton (AUS)
1988: Robbie Page (HAW)
1987: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1986: Derek Ho (HAW)
1985: Mark Occhilupo (AUS)
1984: Joey Buran (USA)
1983: Dane Kealoha (HAW)
1982: Michael Ho (HAW)
1981: Simon Anderson (AUS)
1980: Mark Richards (AUS)
1979: Larry Blair (AUS)
1978: Larry Blair (AUS)
1977: Rory Russell (HAW)
1976: Rory Russell (HAW)
1975: Shaun Tomson (ZAF)
1974: Jeff Crawford (USA)
1973: Gerry Lopez (HAW)
1972: Gerry Lopez (HAW)
1971: Jeff Hakman (HAW)
Rip Curl Pipeline Masters 2006 Rip Curl Pipeline Masters 2005 Rip Curl Pipeline Masters 2004 xbox pipeline masters 2003 xbox pipeline masters 2002
Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast 2007

APS WCT Tour 2010 Schedule

Mens's Division

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast Qld-Australia
Rip Curl Pro Bells
March 30 -April 10, Bells Beach Victoria-Australia
Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro
April 23-May 2, Santa Catarina Brazil
Billabong Pro J-Bay
Jly 15-25, Jeffreys Bay South Africa
Billabong Pro Teahupoo
Aug 23 - Sept 3, Teahupoo Taiarapu-Tahiti
Hurley Pro Trestles
Sep 12-21, Trestles California-USA
Quiksilver Pro France
Sep 25-Oct 5, South West Coast France
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-18, Peniche, Portugal
Rip Curl Pro Search
Oct 30-Nov. 10 - Somewhere?
Billabong Pipeline Masters
Dec 8-20, Banzai Pipeline Oahu-Hawaii

Women's Division

Roxy Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Rip Curl Women's Pro Bells
Mar 30-April 10, Bells Beach Victoria, Australia
TSB Bank Women's Surf Festival
Apr 11-16 Taranaki – New Zealand
Commonwealth Bank Beachly Classic
Apr 21-26, Dee Why,Northern Beaches, NSW-Australia
Movistar Peru Classic presented by Rip Curl
June 8-13, Lobitos-Peru
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-11, Peniche-Portugal
Rip Curl Search
Oct 30-Nov 4, Somewhere
Gidget Pro
Nov 24-Dec 6, Sunset Beach Oahu, Hawaii
Billabong Pro Maui
Dec 8-20 Honolua Bay, Maui, Hawaii

Pro Surfing Archives

Pro Surfing 2009 |Pro Surfing 2008 | Pro Surfing 2007 | Pro Surfing 2006