2010 Full Suits

Home | Surf Contest | ASP 2008 | ASP Men's WQS World Qualifying Series | XCEL Pro Hawaii


Oct 26-Nov 10, Sunset BEACH, Oahu, Hawaii



November 6, 2008 - The 4-Star ASP WQS 2008 Xcel Pro Presented By Honolua will be decided today with the third and final day of competition.

A new swell has put Sunset in the 6' to 8' range, and is expected to steadily build through the day.

Action begins with Heat 16 of Round 3, scheduled to paddle out at 9:00 AM HST, and will continue with all of Round 4, quarterfinals, semifinals, and the concluding final heat.

Web Site Launched for 2008 Xcel Pro Presented by Honolua 25th Anniversary Contest Gears Up for Local Talent, Live Webcast

Seed List Ready, Web Site Launched for 2008 Xcel Pro Presented by Honolua
25th Anniversary Contest Gears Up for Local Talent, Live Webcast

October 20, 2008 - Winter surf season on Oahu's North Shore is approaching fast, with less than one week until the 2008 Xcel Pro Presented by Honolua waiting period begins.

Celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, the 4-Star 2008 Xcel Pro will stream live on the Web at http://xcelpro.xcelwetsuits.com. Three days of competition will run during the official waiting period of October 26 through November 10. A day of Billabong Junior Pro competition will also run during the Xcel Pro waiting period.

This year's event promises lots of exciting action from a field deep in local Hawaiian talent, who'll face stiff competition from mainland and international competitors vying for valuable ratings points and an $80,000 total purse.

With 2007 winner Joel Centeio not entered in this year's event, a new champion will take home the $10,000 first place check. Last year's finalists Makua Rothman, Mason Ho, and Alex Gray all return for a shot at the prize. 2006 Xcel Pro champion Evan Valiere will also return to Sunset Beach this year.

Surfing Live brings its state-of-the-art technology to the 2008 Xcel Pro Webcast, broadcasting live in-the-water footage, beachside interviews, streaming results, and much more to viewers around the world. During the waiting period, the contest Web site "Live Updates" will update daily conditions reports and whether the contest will run that day. The site also hosts photos and the latest updates posted throughout each day of competition.

For more, please visit http://xcelpro.xcelwetsuits.com.

About the Xcel Pro
Celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, the 2008 Xcel Pro Presented by Honolua is a 4-Star ASP WQS event with a $80,000 purse, drawing pros and amateurs alike to world-class Sunset Beach along the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii.

Honolua Surf Co. is the presenting sponsor of the 2008 event and is joined by associate sponsors Kustom, VonZipper, and Fuel TV. Fuel TV will produce the official Xcel Pro television special airing exclusively on their network. Surfing Live produces this year's Webcast, streaming live action and results to viewers around the world. Vitamin Water and Surf News Network, Oahu's local surf forecasting service and the official contest hotline, also support the event.

For more, please visit the contest Web site at http://xcelpro.xcelwetsuits.com.

About Xcel
Founded in 1982, Xcel International, Inc. (Xcel) is a global wetsuit brand distributed throughout the Americas, Europe, Asia, and the Pacific Rim. Headquartered on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii, Xcel's core wetsuit business focuses on the cutting edge of material and design development. Xcel's primary markets include surf, dive, wakeboard, paddle, and sun (UV Performance Gear).

In addition to its North Shore office, Xcel has retail stores on Oahu and Maui, and a warehouse/repair facility in California.

To learn more about Xcel, please visit www.xcelwetsuits.com.

Xcel Pro Past Champions
1984 Kerry Terukina
1985 Denton Miyamura
1986 Hans Hedemann
1987 Ronnie Burns
1988 Michael Ho
1989 Richard Schmidt
1990 Michael Ho
1991 Michael Ho
1992 Sunny Garcia
1993 Kaipo Jaquias
1994 Derek Ho
1995 Kaipo Jaquias
1996 Michael Ho
1997 Andy Irons
1998 Pancho Sullivan
1999 Bruce Irons
2000 Pancho Sullivan
2001 Gavin Beschen
2002 Fred Pattachia
2003 Pancho Sullivan
2004 Fred Pattachia
2005 Ian Walsh
2006 Evan Valiere
2007 Joel Centeio

XCEL Pro 2007: Check out Video Highlights, Photos, News and Results for last years XCEL Pro Hawaii on Pro Surfing .com



APS WCT Tour 2010 Schedule

Mens's Division

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast Qld-Australia
Rip Curl Pro Bells
March 30 -April 10, Bells Beach Victoria-Australia
Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro
April 23-May 2, Santa Catarina Brazil
Billabong Pro J-Bay
Jly 15-25, Jeffreys Bay South Africa
Billabong Pro Teahupoo
Aug 23 - Sept 3, Teahupoo Taiarapu-Tahiti
Hurley Pro Trestles
Sep 12-21, Trestles California-USA
Quiksilver Pro France
Sep 25-Oct 5, South West Coast France
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-18, Peniche, Portugal
Rip Curl Pro Search
Oct 30-Nov. 10 - Somewhere?
Billabong Pipeline Masters
Dec 8-20, Banzai Pipeline Oahu-Hawaii

Women's Division

Roxy Pro Gold Coast
Feb 27-Mar 10, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Rip Curl Women's Pro Bells
Mar 30-April 10, Bells Beach Victoria, Australia
TSB Bank Women's Surf Festival
Apr 11-16 Taranaki – New Zealand
Commonwealth Bank Beachly Classic
Apr 21-26, Dee Why,Northern Beaches, NSW-Australia
Movistar Peru Classic presented by Rip Curl
June 8-13, Lobitos-Peru
Rip Curl Pro
Oct 7-11, Peniche-Portugal
Rip Curl Search
Oct 30-Nov 4, Somewhere
Gidget Pro
Nov 24-Dec 6, Sunset Beach Oahu, Hawaii
Billabong Pro Maui
Dec 8-20 Honolua Bay, Maui, Hawaii

Pro Surfing Archives

Pro Surfing 2009 |Pro Surfing 2008 | Pro Surfing 2007 | Pro Surfing 2006