2010 Full Suits

Home | Surf Contest | ASP 2010 | ASP WCT Men's World Tour | Billabong Pipeline Masters

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast Surf Contest 2008BILLABONG PIPELINE MASTERS 2010

WCT Event #10
December 8-20, 2010
Banzai Pipeline: North Shore, Oahu, Hawaii, USA

"Keep The North Shore Country"

BILLABONG PIPELINE MASTERS 2010 Surf Contest Headlines
Hawaii Surf Trip

Watch it Live
Pipeline Masters Video Highlights


COORDINATES: 21º40’ N, 158º03’ W

BAGGAGE CLAIM: Honolulu International Airport, Honolulu (HNL)

TRANSPORTATION: Rental car, without question. The famed seven-mile miracle of Oahu’s North Shore is a good 45 minute drive from town. Once you’re out there though, a good bicycle and friendly smile is usually all you need.

ATTITUDE: Pipeline is the powder keg of the surfing world. Surfers from hundreds of countries travel here to prove their moxie in the caverns of Pipe. With the inundation of surfers in the line-up, the take off zone makes for some volatile situations. Be advised: if you venture to Pipe, be prepared to do battle – not just with the sea, but with your fellow surfers.

THE WAVE: Exploding tubes over shallow lava reef and sand. For decades, Pipe has been considered the most dangerous wave on the planet and shows no sign of slowing down. However, great risk yields great reward, and it’s not uncommon to hear the phrase “best wave of my life” thrown around in the lineup and on the beach.

PERKS: Guts for Glory. People make their entire careers out of surfing the Pipeline. Make your mark on this wave, and you’ll go down in surfing lore.

PERILS: Shallow reefs, crowded line-ups, massive locals and an occasional cameo by Jaws.

APRES SURF: Big Hawaiians throw Big Parties. There’s always something going on. Pick up some snacks and beverages at Kammieland, and head down to the nearest BBQ – make sure you know someone there though.

ASP WORLD TOUR HISTORY: Although hosted by a slew of sponsors over the years, the ASP World Tour event at Pipe will be hosted by surfwear giant Billabong in 2007. Expect the boys at Billabong to pull out all the stops this season as they dig their teeth into one of the most prestigious events on the planet. The venue has played host to a number of ASP World Title showdowns and is never short on action.

NOTABLE: Pipeline is held (by many) with as much reverence as the ASP World Title itself. The history of the place, combined with the sheer ferocity of the wave, makes winnning the Pipemasters a career highlight.

2008: Kelly Slater (USA)
2007: Bede Durbidge (AUS)
2006: Andy Irons (HAW)
2005: Andy Irons (HAW)
2004: Jamie O’Brien (HAW)
2003: Andy Irons (HAW)
2002: Andy Irons (HAW)
2001: Bruce Irons (HAW)
2000: Rob Machado (USA)
1999: Kelly Slater (USA)
1998: Jake Paterson (AUS)
1997: Johnny-Boy Gomes (HAW)
1996: Kelly Slater (USA)
1995: Kelly Slater (USA)
1994: Kelly Slater (USA)
1993: Derek Ho (HAW)
1992: Kelly Slater (USA)
1991: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1990: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1989: Gary Elkerton (AUS)
1988: Robbie Page (HAW)
1987: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1986: Derek Ho (HAW)
1985: Mark Occhilupo (AUS)
1984: Joey Buran (USA)
1983: Dane Kealoha (HAW)
1982: Michael Ho (HAW)
1981: Simon Anderson (AUS)
1980: Mark Richards (AUS)
1979: Larry Blair (AUS)
1978: Larry Blair (AUS)
1977: Rory Russell (HAW)
1976: Rory Russell (HAW)
1975: Shaun Tomson (ZAF)
1974: Jeff Crawford (USA)
1973: Gerry Lopez (HAW)
1972: Gerry Lopez (HAW)
1971: Jeff Hakman (HAW)


2008 Pipeline Masters
2007 Pipeline Masters

Rip Curl Pipeline Masters 2006 Rip Curl Pipeline Masters 2005 Rip Curl Pipeline Masters 2004 xbox pipeline masters 2003 xbox pipeline masters 2002
Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast 2007

Pro Surfing Archives

Pro Surfing 2010 |Pro Surfing 2008 | Pro Surfing 2007 | Pro Surfing 2006