<-- Pro Surfing News

Event Organizers Call Lay Day for Rip Curl Pro Portugal, Possible Start Tomorrow :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

Brett Simpson (USA), 27, will open up the Rip Curl Pro Portugal in Heat 1 Round 1 when competition commences.

Brett Simpson (USA), 27, will open up the Rip Curl Pro Portugal in Heat 1 Round 1 when competition commences.

SUPERTUBOS, Peniche/Portugal (Thursday, October 11, 2012) – With only small surf on offer this morning, event organizers have called the second, consecutive lay day for the Rip Curl Pro Portugal, but a building system could see the commencement of competition as early as tomorrow.

Event No. 8 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Rip Curl Pro Portugal is a crucial stop for both the hunt for the 2012 ASP World Title as well as the requalification campaigns of the world’s best surfers.

“Small surf as projected this morning and we’ve called a lay day for competition,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We’re tracking a solid system that should send surf for the weekend and potentially tomorrow afternoon. We’ll be back tomorrow to assess our options and make another call then.”

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7:45am to assess conditions for a possible 8am start.

Magic Seaweed, official forecaster for the Rip Curl Pro Portugal, are calling for:

- NNW swell for the weekend looking likely for head+ surf.
- Large storm system sending pulses of more westerly swell for next week with a very very mixed, but positive, longer range outlook.

When competition commences, up first will be Adriano de Souza (BRA), 25, Brett Simpson (USA), 27, and Raoni Monteiro (BRA), 30, in the opening heat of Round 1.

The Rip Curl Pro Portugal will be webcast LIVE via http://live.ripcurl.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Brett Simpson (USA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW), Kai Otton (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Damien Hobgood (USA), Dillon Perillo (USA)
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Pierre Valentin Laborde (FRA)
Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 10: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives