<-- Pro Surfing News

Insufficient Swell Forces Lay Day on Day 1 of the SATA Airlines Azores Pro :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

PRAIA DO SANTA BARBARA, Sao Miguel/Azores Islands (Tuesday, September 4, 2012) - Waves in the 1-2Ft range and unclement side-onshore winds today at Praia do Santa Barbara forced event officials to call it a lay-day on the opening day of the ASP 6-Star SATA Airlines Azores Pro. Event number 5 of 7 on the European Men’s Star Tour, the Azores stop again will play a major role in deciding Europe’s best and offers crucial ranking points to all aspiring ASP World Championship Tour qualifyers.

The incredible location of Praia Do Santa Barbara, host of the event this week, didn’t deliver contestable conditions today and Rodrigo Heredia, contest director, after discussing with the ASP Head Judge and surfers, has decided to call it OFF for the day.

“The waves are quite small,” Heredia stated. “The forecast shows an increase in swell for the next three days and it looks like tomorrow, Thursday and Friday we should have good conditions, not especially big, but bigger than this and with more consistence. We want to offer surfers the best waves we can, and with today’s conditions it doesn’t seem fair to send them out, so they’ll have a day to relax.”

Sao Miguel, sitting in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, enjoys a tropical athmoshpere and luxuriant nature offering plenty of sightseeing opportunities and fun activities throughout the 750 square kilometers of the island.

“This island is full of activities of every kind, there are waterfalls, warm water natural pools, the lagoons etc.. It’s a magical island, and we haven’t planned anything particular because there’s so much on offer already for everyone here !”

The next call is set to 7:30am tomorrow morning for a possible early start to the first round of competition at the SATA Airlines Azores Pro.

The ASP 6-Star SATA Airlines Azores Pro is scheduled from September 4-9, 2012 in Sao Miguel, Azores Islands. For all results, photos, video highlights, press releases log on to zarautz.aspeurope.com.

For additional ASP information log on to www.aspeurope.com

The SATA Airlines Azores Pro is organized by DAAZ Eventos and USBA (União de Surfistas e Bodyboarders dos Açores) with the support of the following event partners: SATA Airlines, do Turismo dos Açores, Câmara Municipal da Ribeira Grande, Sumol, Moche, and the participation of Hotel Vip Executive Açores, FUEL TV as official TV Channel, RFM, RTP, Jornal i, Surf Total, Surf Portugal and ONFIRE.

Heat 1:
Beyrick De Vries (ZAF), Frederico Morais (PRT), Chase Wilson (USA), Heremoana Luciani (PYF)
Heat 2: Gavin Gillette (HAW), Eric Geiselman (USA), Diego Cadena (MEX), Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Heat 3: Davey Cathels (AUS), Ruda Carvalho (BRA), Steven Pierson (PYF), Romain Laulhe (FRA)
Heat 4: Mitch Crews (AUS), Tim Macdonald (AUS), Lucas Santamaria (ARG), Jaymes Triglone (AUS)
Heat 5: Luke Davis (USA), Alan Donato (BRA), Rafael Pereira (VEN), Alexander El Naib (DEU)
Heat 6: Luel Felipe (BRA), Manuel Selman (CHL), Filipe Jervis (PRT), Chirstian Saenz (USA)
Heat 7: Garrett Parkes (AUS), Krystian Kymerson (BRA), David Van Zyl (ZAF), Enrique Ariitu (PYF)
Heat 8: Leonardo Neves (BRA), Alexandre Chacon (BRA), Jerome Forrest (AUS), Mateia Hiquily (PYF)
Heat 9: Cory Arrambide (USA), Miguel Tudela (PER), Cahill Bell-Warren (AUS), Magnum Martinez (VEN)
Heat 10: Messias Felix (BRA), Leandro Usuna (ARG), Dylan Southworth (MEX), Eduardo Fernandes (PRT)
Heat 11: Halley Batista (BRA), Ian Gouveia (BRA), Taylor Clark (USA), Jatyr Berasaluce (EUK)
Heat 12: Peterson Crisanto (BRA), Jordin Watson (AUS), Guillermo Satt (CHL), Freddie Meadows (SWE)
Heat 13: Jano Belo (BRA), Matt-Lewis Hewitt (NZL), Jeffrey Lukasik (USA), Tereva David (PYF)
Heat 14: Thomas Woods (AUS), Santiago Muniz (ARG), Brad Ettinger (USA), Jose Ferreira (PRT)
Heat 15: Ricardo Christie (NZL), Ian Crane (USA), Dillon Perillo (USA), Remi Petersen (NLD)
Heat 16: Nic Von Rupp (DEU), Yujiro Tsuji (JPN), Eneko Acero (EUK), Saxon Lumsden (AUS)
Heat 17: Flavio Nakagima (BRA), Teppei Tajima (JPN), Nobuyuki Osawa (JPN), Dimitri Ouvre (GLP)
Heat 18: Carlos Munoz (CRI), Ty Watson (AUS), Norman Landa (EUK), Teale Vanner (AUS)
Heat 19: Simao Romao (BRA), Cristobal De Col (PER), Soli Bailey (AUS), Joao Guedes (PRT)
Heat 20: Caio Ibelli (BRA), Marco Fernandez (BRA), Francisco Bellorin (VEN), Timothy Latte (SWE)
Heat 21: Maxime Huscenot (FRA), Bino Lopes (BRA), Sidney Guimaraes (BRA), Andre Oziol (HAW)
Heat 22: Vasco Ribeiro (PRT), Alan Jhones (BRA), Marcelo Rodriguez (ARG), Ruben Gonzalez (PRT)
Heat 23: David Do Carmo (BRA), Matt Pagan (USA), Vicente Romero (ESP), Tristan Guilbaud (FRA)
Heat 24: Marlon Lipke (DEU), Bruno Rodrigues (BRA), Connor O’Leary (AUS), Cheyne Willis (HAW)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives