<-- Pro Surfing News

Lay Day Called for Billabong Rio Pro :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

Travis Logie (ZAF), 33, will face off against Raoni Monteiro (BRA), 30, in Heat 9 of Round 2 when Billabong Rio Pro competition resumes.

BARRA DA TIJUCA, Rio de Janeiro/Brazil (Friday, May 11, 2012) ? With small one-to-two foot (.5 metre) waves on offer at Barra Da Tijuca, event organizers at the Billabong Rio Pro have opted to call competition off for the day.

Stop No. 3 on the Men?s ASP World Championship Tour and No. 5 for the women, the Billabong Rio Pro ran at the backup location of Arpoador for the first two days of competition, completing men?s Round 1 and Rounds 1 and 2 of women’s action.

?With minimal swell on offer and plenty of time remaining in the waiting period, we?ve called competition off for today,? Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. ?We?ll return tomorrow morning to reassess conditions for a possible restart to competition.?

Gabriel Medina (BRA), 18, will face off against fellow Brazilian Peterson Crisanto (BRA), 19, when Billabong Rio Pro Men?s competition resumes while Tyler Wright (AUS), 18, Courtney Conlogue (USA), 19, and Alessa Quizon (HAW), 18, will be up first in Billabong Rio Pro Women?s Round 3.

The Billabong Rio Pro holds a waiting period from May 9 through 20 while the women?s waiting period runs from May 9 through 13. To watch the event LIVE log on to www.billabongpro.com

The Billabong Rio Pro is proudly supported by Monster Energy Drink and Xperia Sony Smartphone.

Billabong Rio Pro event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am local time for a possible restart to competition.

Heat 1:
Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
Heat 2: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Tomas Hermes (BRA)
Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 4: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 5: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 6: Brett Simpson (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 8: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 9: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 10: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 11: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 12: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)

Heat 1:
Tyler Wright (AUS), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Alessa Quizon (HAW)
Heat 2: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Lakey Peterson (USA), Coco Ho (HAW)
Heat 3: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Malia Manuel (HAW), Rebecca Woods (AUS)
Heat 4: Carissa Moore (HAW), Laura Enever (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives