<-- Pro Surfing News

Rip Curl Pro Portugal Off for the Day, Swell Projected for Saturday :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

Taj Burrow (AUS), 34, warming up at Supertubos for the Rip Curl Pro Portugal.

Taj Burrow (AUS), 34, warming up at Supertubos for the Rip Curl Pro Portugal.

SUPERTUBOS, Peniche/Portugal (Friday, October 12, 2012) – After assessing conditions throughout the day, event organizers at the Rip Curl Pro Portugal opted to call a lay day this afternoon in hopes of commencing competition in tomorrow’s projected swell.

“We gave ourselves every opportunity for success today, but the swell has yet to manifest and we’ve called competition off,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We expect to be on tomorrow morning and will be back at first light to assess conditions.”

Event organizers will reconvene at 7:45am to reassess conditions for a possible 8am start.

Magic Seaweed, official forecaster for the Rip Curl Pro Portugal, are calling for:

- Two pulses of swell for the weekend increasing on Saturday afternoon, peaking overnight and dropping through Sunday into Monday.
- New long period NW swell building on Monday afternoon and into Tuesday.
- Risk of light onshore winds later in the weekend and again on Tuesday becoming increasingly strong.
- Large or possibly extremely large swell for later next week with increasing risk of strong Westerly winds.

When competition commences, up first will be Adriano de Souza (BRA), 25, Brett Simpson (USA), 27, and Raoni Monteiro (BRA), 30, in the opening heat of Round 1.

The Rip Curl Pro Portugal will be webcast LIVE via http://live.ripcurl.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Brett Simpson (USA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW), Kai Otton (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Damien Hobgood (USA), Dillon Perillo (USA)
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Pierre Valentin Laborde (FRA)
Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 10: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives