<-- Pro Surfing News

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 3 is ON :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News
Julian Wilson (AUS), 24, will face off against Adam Melling (AUS), 28, in Heat 9 of Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 3.

Julian Wilson (AUS), 24, will face off against Adam Melling (AUS), 28, in Heat 9 of Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 3.

TEAHUPO’O, Tahiti (Friday, August 16, 2013) – The Billabong Pro Tahiti has been called back on this morning in clean three-to-five foot (1.5 metre) surf at Teahupo’o. Following several incredible Round 2 heats, Round 3 has been called on through Heat 9 this afternoon.

Stop No. 6 of 10 on the 2013 ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), the Billabong Pro Tahiti hosted impressive performances on opening day, including a Perfect 10 from wildcard Anthony Walsh (AUS), 30, in Round 1 while some big upsets unfolded during the opening four heats of Round 2.

“We’ve seen some incredible rides through Round 2 and have called Round 3 ON,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. “We have through Heat 9 on standby and will monitor conditions throughout the day.”

The Billabong Pro Tahiti will be webcast LIVE http://www.billabongpro.com/tahiti13

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for:

Small, mid period SW swell will continue today. Another small, shorter to mid period SSW swell is on track to build Saturday afternoon, hold Sunday and then fade Monday. We’ll continue to watch the long range charts for something that will potentially be a little better for around the 24th.

For additional ASP information log on to www.aspworldtour.com

Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Nathan Hedge (AUS)
HEAT 2: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
HEAT 3: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
HEAT 4: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
HEAT 5: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Bede Durbidge (AUS)
HEAT 6: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Ian Walsh (HAW)
HEAT 7: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Anthony Walsh (AUS)
HEAT 8: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
HEAT 9: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
HEAT 10: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Yadin Nicol (AUS)
HEAT 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
HEAT 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS): Alain Riou (PYF)

Heat 5:
Nathan Hedge (AUS) 15.53 def. Michel Bourez (PYF) 14.76
Heat 6: Josh Kerr (AUS) 17.17 def. Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 13.17
Heat 7: Julian Wilson 14.77 def. Alejo Muniz (BRA) 8.60
Heat 8: Adam Melling (AUS) 14.10 def. Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 14.10
Heat 9: Miguel Pupo (BRA) 15.30 def. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 14.97
Heat 10: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 19.33 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 17.10
Heat 11: Kai Otton (AUS) 19.06 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 14.33
Heat 12: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 13.90 def. Travis Logie (ZAF) 13.60

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives