<-- Pro Surfing News

Lay Day Called at Gran Canaria Santa Pro Junior :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News
Competitors enjoyed a relaxed day in Gran Canaria today.

Competitors enjoyed a relaxed day in Gran Canaria today.

PLAYA DE LA CICER, Gran Canaria/Canary Islands (Thursday, September 12, 2013) - A lay day was called today at the second call of 4pm this afternoon, due to the lack of waves on offer at the main site of playa de la Cicer in Las Palmas, Gran Canaria. The forecast shows a significant improvement for the coming days and competition should resume shortly.

“The waves were too small today and we couldn’t run the event,” Miguel Tavio, co-organizer of the Gran Canaria Santa Pro Junior stated. “We’ll be back tomorrow morning, it looks a lot better with 3-4Ft swell at 12s and not too much wind. Conditions should be fun for the upcoming three days.”

Competitors and organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7:45am for a potential 8am start at playa de la cicer.

The 2013 Gran Canaria Santa Pro Junior is scheduled from September 11-15, 2013 at Playa de la Cicer, Gran Canaria – Canary Islands/Spain. For all results, photos, video highlights, press releases and LIVE webcast, log on to aspeurope.com/grancanaria2013.

To access our complimentary high-res images, please go to

The Gran Canaria Santa Pro Junior is made possible with the support of the following event partners: Islas Canarias, WeterSports Experience, Ayuntamiento de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Cabildo de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria Patronato de Turismo, Cafe Central, Windguru, Surfers Village, Hotel Best Western Cantur, Red Bull, Armas, FCS, Oceanside surfing adventures, BST SurfAcademy, Wavestreamers, Efimera amongst others.

Heat 1:
Vasco Ribeiro (PRT), Lucas Jannier (REU), Pablo Goncalves (REU), Lorenzo Avvenenti (PYF)
Heat 2: Imanol Yeregi (EUK), Ethan Egiguren (EUK), Jacome Correia (PRT), Lewis Leadbetter (CNY)
Heat 3: Gaspard Larsonneur (FRA), Charly Quivront (FRA), Joshua Braddock (GBR), Vehiatua Prunier (PYF)
Heat 4: Miguel Blanco (PRT), Guilherme Fonseca (PRT), Jobe Harriss (GBR), Adrian Zorriketa (EUK)
Heat 5: Ian Fontaine (FRA), Timothee Bisso (GLP), Titouan Deffarges (FRA), Leon Glatzer (DEU)
Heat 6: Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA), Tomas Fernandes (PRT), Gearoid McDaid (IRL), Saul Torres (CNY)
Heat 7: Nomme Mignot (FRA), Gatien Delahaye (GLP), Will Davey (GBR), Arne Bergwinkl (DEU)
Heat 8: Charly Termeau (FRA), Arthur Lasse (FRA), Miguel Betegon (ESP), Bosco Ruiz Imbert (ESP)
Heat 9: Diego Mignot (FRA), Roberto D’Amico (ITA), Julen Egiguren (EUK), Yael Pena (CNY)
Heat 10: William Aliotti (FRA), Mateia Hiquily (PYF), Miguel Villalba (ESP), Luis Perloiro (PRT)
Heat 11: Natxo Gonzalez (EUK), Aldric God (FRA), Elliot Ivarra (GLP), Mihimana Braye (PYF)
Heat 12: Nelson Cloarec (FRA), Luke Dillon (GBR), Juan Ignacio Sebastia (EUK), Christian Portelli (SWE)
Heat 13: Tom Cloarec (FRA), Luis Diaz (CNY), Luca Dioguardi (CNY), Ivan Gonzalez (ESP)
Heat 14: Andy Criere (FRA), Harry Timson (GBR), Alex Bauduin (CNY), Airam Perez (ESP)
Heat 15: Jorgann Couzinet (REU), Alex Iriondo (EUK), Paul Cesar Distinguin (FRA), Vincent Vandeputte (BEL)
Heat 16: Francisco Alves (PRT), Joao Kopke (PRT) ,Tom Simon (REU), Jack Keenan (GBR)

Heat 1:
Tessa Thyssen (GLP), Keshia Seelow-Eyre (PRT), Nahir Manduca (ESP)
Heat 2: Carina Duarte (PRT), Ainara Aymat (EUK), Maddi Aizpurua (ESP), Virginia Giesen (DEU)
Heat 3: Lucia Martino (ESP), Loiola Canales Bilbao (EUK), Tassy Swallow (GBR), Dairen Melian (CNY)
Heat 4: Leticia Canales Bilbao (EUK), Ariane Ochoa (EUK), Kim Veteau (GLP), Melodie Bohny Traynor (CNY)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives