<-- Pro Surfing News

Lay Day Called for Quiksilver Saquarema Prime :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

SAQUAREMA, Rio de Janeiro / Brazil (Tuesday, May, 21, 2013) - With a favorable weather forecast predicted for the following days, a lay day was called by the event organizers at the Quiksilver Saquarema Prime presented by Coca-Cola. The next call is scheduled for 7am (local time) on Wednesday at Itauna beach, in the state of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

“With the Southwest wind that’s blowing today, we’ve decided to begin the contest tomorrow (Wednesday),” said Sergio Lindemann, of Adding Sports, which organizes the ASP Prime of Saquarema. “We’ve got some great weather coming for the remainder of the week and we want to run heats at the best possible times. Saquarema always has quality waves and we expect some great surfing this week with many of the top surfers present.”

A total of 96 surfers from 17 different countries which include Australia, South Africa, the United States, Hawaii and Europe will be battling it out at the Quiksilver Saquarema Prime for 6,500 points going towards the ASP One World Ranking. Included in the field of competition will be 15 WCT athletes who have remained in Brazil to contend for valuable ASP PRIME points. Local athlete, Raoni Monteiro, 31, will surely be the crowd favorite.

Heat 1 of the Round of 96 will start off competition with Manuel Selman (CHL), Lincoln Taylor (AUS), Ezekiel Lau (HAW) and Bernardo Miranda (BRA).

The Quiksilver Saquarema Prime presented by Coca-Cola is produced by Adding Sports and sponsored by the State of Rio de Janeiro, Peugeot and the City of Saquarema. With additional support provided by the Peugeot Montreal Dealership, Concessionaria CCS, the Rio de Janeiro State Surfing Federation (FESERJ), and the Brazilian Association of Surfing Professionals (ABRASP).

The event is approved by the ASP South America as the second ASP Prime event of 2013 and will be transmitted live on the internet: www.quiksilver.com.br/primesaquarema13

IMAGES – High resolution images gallery available for download here – http://www.aspworldtour.com/aspimagery/

Heat 1:
Manuel Selman (CHL), Lincoln Taylor (AUS), Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Bernardo Pigmeu (BRA)
Heat 2: Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Stu Kennedy (AUS), Garrett Parkes (AUS)
Heat 3: Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Andrew Doheny (USA), Davey Cathels (AUS), Hodei Collazo (ESP)
Heat 4: Alejo Muniz (BRA), Perth Standlick (AUS), Alex Ribeiro (BRA), Nathaniel Curran (USA)
Heat 5: Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Charles Martin (GLP), Heath Joske (AUS), Halley Batista (BRA)
Heat 6: Dusty Payne (HAW), Nathan Hedge (AUS), Adrien Toyon (FRA), Marlon Lipke (PRT)
Heat 7: Dion Atkinson (AUS), Jadson André (BRA), Gony Zubizarreta (ESP), Romain Cloitre (FRA)
Heat 8: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Jessé Mendes (BRA), Nic Von Rupp (ALE), Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Heat 9: Brett Simpson (USA), Evan Geiselman (USA), Messias Felix (BRA), Jano Belo (BRA)
Heat 10: Kolohe Andino (USA), Gabe Kling (USA), Michael Dunphy (USA), Luel Felipe (BRA)
Heat 11: Mitchel Coleborn (AUS), Keanu Asing (HAW), Hizunomê Bettero (BRA), Shaun Joubert (ZAF)
Heat 12: Cristobal de Col (PER), Tanner Gudauskas (USA), Cory Arrambide (USA), Gustavo Fernandes (BRA)
Heat 13: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Billy Stairmand (NZL), Kiron Jabour (HAW), Yan Guimarães (BRA)
Heat 14: Granger Larsen (HAW), Brian Toth (PRI), Torrey Meister (HAW), Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR)
Heat 15: Glenn Hall (IRL), Mitch Crews (AUS), Ricardo dos Santos (BRA), Flavio Nakagima (BRA)
Heat 16: Miguel Pupo (BRA), Jean da Silva (BRA), Tomas Hermes (BRA), Gabriel Villaran (PER)
Heat 17: Travis Logie (ZAF), Peterson Crisanto (BRA), Heitor Alves (BRA), Simão Romão (BRA)
Heat 18: Willian Cardoso (BRA), Chris Ward (USA), Cory Lopez (USA), David do Carmo (BRA)
Heat 19: Jay Thompson (AUS), Marc Lacomare (FRA), Matt Banting (AUS), Beyrick De Vries (ZAF)
Heat 20: Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Maxime Huscenot (FRA), Joan Duru (FRA), Eric Geiselman (USA)
Heat 21: Damien Hobgood (USA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Vincent Duvignac (FRA), Kai Barger (HAW)
Heat 22: Adam Melling (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Nathan Yeomans (USA), Gavin Gillette (HAW)
Heat 23: Aritz Aranburu (ESP), Tom Whitaker (AUS), Mason Ho (HAW), Luke Davis (USA)
Heat 24: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Jack Freestone (AUS), Dale Staples (ZAF), Yuri Sodré (BRA)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives