<-- Pro Surfing News

Lay Day Called for Volcom Fiji Pro :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

The island of Tavarua will host the ASP Top 34 in improved conditions in the coming days.

The island of Tavarua will host the ASP Top 34 in improved conditions in the coming days.

TAVARUA, Fiji (Sunday, June 2, 2013) – Onshore winds and small surf on offer this morning have prompted Volcom Fiji Pro event organizers to call a lay day for competition as the remainder of the window is projecting increased surf and improved conditions.

Event No. 4 of 10 on the 2013 ASP World Championship Tour, the Volcom Fiji Pro has brought the world’s best surfers to one of the world’s most idyllic surfing destinations in the South Pacific. Over the course of the 13-day window, the ASP Top 34 will do battle at the primary venue of Cloudbreak and potentially the secondary venue of Restaurants as this season’s hunt for the world surfing crown continues.

“Only small surf on offer this morning with poor wind conditions,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We’ve called a lay day for competition and expect improved conditions throughout the remainder of the event window. We’ll be back tomorrow morning to make another assessment.”

When competition commences, up first will be Jordy Smith (ZAF), 25, Sebastian Zietz (HAW), 24, and Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 31, in the opening heat of Round 1.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am to assess conditions for a possible 8am start.

The Volcom Fiji Pro will be webcast LIVE via volcomfijipro.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Jordy Smith (ZAF), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 3: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Mitch Coleborn (AUS)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Alex Gray (USA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Aca Lalabalavu (FIJ)
Heat 7: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Kai Otton (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 8: Julian Wilson (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Glenn Hall (AUS)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Nat Young (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 12: Adrian Buchan (AUS), John John Florence (HAW), Brett Simpson (USA)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives