<-- Pro Surfing News

Oakley Pro Bali Round 1 Called ON at Keramas :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

KERAMAS, Bali/Indonesia (Tuesday, June 18, 2013) – Round 1 of the Oakley Pro Bali has been called on this morning with the opening heat hitting the water at 7am in clean four-to-six foot (1.5 metre) waves at the primary venue of Keramas.

Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2013 ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), the Oakley Pro Bali commences its maiden installment as an elite tour event and the world’s best surfers are on the scene to do battle in the high-performance playground.

“The waves have turned up for Day 1 of the competition window and we’ll be commencing Round 1 of competition at 11am,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “Keramas is an extremely tidal venu so it’s likely that we’ll see several heats run this morning before going on a hold through mid-day and then running again this afternoon. We will monitor conditions and make adjustments accordingly. Good luck to all our competitors today.”

Up first this morning will be Adriano de Souza (BRA), 26, Bede Durbidge (AUS), 30, and Dusty Payne (HAW), 24, in the opening heat of Round 1.

The Oakley Pro Bali will be webcast LIVE via www.oakleyprobali.com

Surfline, official forecasters for the Oakley Pro Bali are calling for:

Medium size, long period SW swell will build in for the first two days of the event waiting period, Tue/Wed the 18th-19th, easing for the second half of the week. A similar sized swell for Keramas is on the radar for the 22nd-23rd, with more swells on the long range radar for the final 5 days of the event holding period at this point.

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 2: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Oney Anwar (IND)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Damien Hobgood (USA), Jack Robinson (AUS)
Heat 7: Nat Young (USA), Kai Otton (AUS), Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 9: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 10: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Julian Wilson (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Sebastian Zietz (HAW), John John Florence (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives