<-- Pro Surfing News

Opening Day of Billabong Pipe Masters is ON :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News
The 2013 Billabong Pipe Masters is ON!

The 2013 Billabong Pipe Masters is ON!

PIPELINE, Oahu/Hawaii (Sunday, December 8, 2013) - Opening day of the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons has been called ON is pumping six-to-eight foot (2 metre) waves at Pipeline and Backdoor. Today’s schedule is expected to see the completion of Round 1 and the opening heats of Round 2.

Stop No. 10 of 10 on the ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), the Billabong Pipe Masters marks the culmination of the ASP World Title, 2014 ASP WCT Qualifiers and the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.

“We have good six foot plus waves this morning at Pipe and Backdoor and we’ll start competition at 8am,” Marty Thomas, Billabong Pipe Masters Contest Director said. “We plan on completing Round 1 and will go in to Round 2.”

Up first this morning will be local wildcard Ezekiel Lau (HAW), 20, against Patrick Gudauskas (USA), 28, in the opening heat of the Billabong Pipe Masters.

The Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons holds a waiting period from December 8 through 20 and is webcast LIVE via vanstriplecrownofsurfing.com

Surfline, official forecasters for the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, are calling for:
Overlapping NNW swells prevail Sunday through Tuesday with good size surf at Pipe. Wind is light Sunday and Monday, with trades rebuilding by Tuesday.

Heat 1:
Patrick Gudauskas (USA) vs. Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Joel Centeio (HAW)
Heat 3: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Marcus Hickman (HAW)
Heat 4: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Kaimana Jaquias (HAW)
Heat 5: Yadin Nicol (AUS) vs. Kahea Hart (HAW)
Heat 6: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) vs. Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 7: Dusty Payne (HAW) vs. Reef McIntosh (HAW)
Heat 8: Jadson Andre (BRA) vs. Olamana Eleogram (HAW)
Heat 9: Mitch Crews (AUS) vs. Shane Dorian (HAW)
Heat 10: Granger Larsen (HAW) vs. Kalani Chapman (HAW)
Heat 11: Tanner Gudauskas (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 12: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Ryan Callinan (AUS)

Heat 1:
Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. TBD
Heat 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. TBD
Heat 3: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) vs. TBD
Heat 4: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. TBD
Heat 5: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. TBD
Heat 6: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 8: Brett Simpson (USA) vs. TBD
Heat 9: Travis Logie (ZAF) vs. TBD
Heat 10: Miguel Pupo (BRA) vs. TBD
Heat 11: Adam Melling (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 12: Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. TBD

Heat 1:
Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 2: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. TBD
Heat 3: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 4: Nat Young (USA) vs. TBD
Heat 5: John John Florence (HAW) vs. TBD
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. TBD
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. TBD
Heat 10: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. TBD
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. TBD

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives