<-- Pro Surfing News

Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach Called Back ON in Clean Surf, Women’s Final Today :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

Sebastian Zietz (HAW), 25, 2013 ASP Dream Tour rookie, will take on Josh Kerr (AUS), 29, in the opening heat of the morning at the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.

Sebastian Zietz (HAW), 25, 2013 ASP Dream Tour rookie, will take on Josh Kerr (AUS), 29, in the opening heat of the morning at the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.

BELLS BEACH, Victoria/AUS (Monday, April 1, 2013) – The Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach presented by Ford, the second stop on the 2013 ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), has been called back on this morning with the remainder of Round 3 commencing at 7:45am in clean three-to-five foot (1 – 1.5 metre) waves at Bells Beach.

“The surf has dropped slightly but conditions have cleaned up so we’ll be back on as soon as possible this morning,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We plan to wrap the remaining nine heats of Round 3 before running the women’s Final and have put men’s Round 4 and Round 5 on standby for a possible start this afternoon. Good luck to all our competitors today.”

In addition to the men’s event, the Rip Curl Women’s Pro Bells Beach has whittled the field down to the final two surfers, Tyler Wright (AUS), 19, and Carissa Moore (HAW), 20, who will battle it out for the crown today.

Up first this morning will be Josh Kerr (AUS), 29, up against Sebastian Zietz (HAW), 25, in Heat 7 of Round 3.

The 2013 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach will be webcast LIVE via www.live.ripcurl.com and broadcast live on Fuel TV in Australia and Portugal, ESPN in Brazil and MCS Extreme in France, Luxembourg, Belgium, Switzerland and Africa. You can also watch the event live via the Rip Curl Pro iPhone app, available free in the iTunes App Store.

CoastalWatch, official forecasters for the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach, have called for: A strong increase in long period SW groundswell arrives over the Easter long weekend, peaking on Sunday morning under moderate to strong WSW winds before gradually easing throughout Monday.

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 4:
Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
Heat 5: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Bede Durbidge (AUS)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 8: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 9: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 10: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Filipe Toledo (BRA)
Heat 11: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)

Tyler Wright (AUS) VS. Carissa Moore (HAW)

The Rip Curl Pro is presented by FORD with partners the Victorian Government, Momentum Energy, mophie, Tooheys Extra Dry, Jim Beam, Skullcandy, Red Bull, Telstra, Surf Coast Shire, Surfing Life Magazine, Fuel TV, Ozmosis, Nova, CO2 Australia, Coastalwatch Plus and co-managed by Surfing Victoria.

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives