<-- Pro Surfing News

Rip Curl Pro Portugal Round 1 ON at Supertubos, Round 2 on Standby :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

Supertubos will host the world's best surfers for Day 1 of the Rip Curl Pro Portugal.

Supertubos will host the world’s best surfers for Day 1 of the Rip Curl Pro Portugal.

SUPERTUBOS, Peniche/Portugal (Wednesday, October 9, 2013) – Round 1 of the Rip Curl Pro Portugal presented by Moche has been called on this morning, commencing at 8am (fog permitting) in clean 3-5Ft waves at Supertubos.

Event 9 of 10 on the 2013 ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), the Rip Curl Pro Portugal has the potential of crowning this year’s ASP World Champion as well as playing a vital role in the requalification campaigns for the world’s best surfers.

“We have good waves on offer this morning and we’ll be commencing competition shortly,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “Conditions and swell are meant to maintain throughout the day so we’ve called Round 1 on and have put Round 2 on standby as well for a possible start this afternoon. Good luck to all our competitors today.”

Up first this morning will be defending Rip Curl Pro Portugal winner Julian Wilson (AUS), 24, facing Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 31, and Yadin Nicol (AUS), 27, in the opening heat of Round 1.

The Rip Curl Pro Portugal will be webcast LIVE via www.live.ripcurl.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Julian Wilson (AUS), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 2: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Dillon Perillo (USA)
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Frederico Morais (PRT)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Jacob Willcox (AUS)
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Francisco Alves (PRT)
Heat 7: Michel Bourez (PYF), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 9: Adriano De Souza (BRA), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: Kai Otton (AUS), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 11: C.J. Hobgood (USA), John John Florence (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 12: Nat Young (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives