<-- Pro Surfing News

Rip Curl Women’s Pro Bells Beach ON HOLD, Next Call 10:30am :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News

Sunrise over Bells Beach.

Sunrise over Bells Beach.

BELLS BEACH, Victoria/AUS (Thursday, March 28, 2013) – The Rip Curl Women’s Pro Bells Beach presented by Ford has been placed ON HOLD this morning. Event officials will make another call at 10:30am for a possible 11am Round 1 start.

Stop No. 3 of 7 on the 2013 ASP Women’s World Championship Tour (WCT), the Rip Curl Women’s Pro Bells Beach will recommence the hunt for the world surfing crown at the iconic Bells Beach this week.

“There are a few waves coming through this morning and we’ll monitor conditions over the next few hours,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “Men are off for the day, but we’ve place the women’s event ON HOLD until 10:30am for a possible 11am start.”

Coastalwatch, official forecasters for the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach, are calling for: Thursday marks a low point in wave heights ahead of an increase mid period SW swell on Friday. A stronger increase in long period SW groundswell arrives over the Easter long weekend. This is likely to be followed by another strong SSW groundswell around Wednesday 4 April.

Event organizers will reconvene at 10:30am to assess conditions for a possible 11am start.

The 2013 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach will be webcast LIVE via www.live.ripcurl.com and broadcast live on Fuel TV in Australia and Portugal, ESPN in Brazil and MCS Extreme in France, Luxembourg, Belgium, Switzerland and Africa. You can also watch the event live via the Rip Curl Pro iPhone app, available free in the iTunes App Store.

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Courtney Conlogue (USA), Laura Enever (AUS), Silvana Lima (BRA)
Heat 2: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Alana Blanchard (HAW), Sage Erickson (USA)
Heat 3: Tyler Wright (AUS), Malia Manuel (HAW), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
Heat 4: Carissa Moore (HAW), Paige Hareb (NZL), Sofia Mulanovich (PER)
Heat 5: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Rebecca Woods (AUS)
Heat 6: Coco Ho (HAW), Lakey Peterson (USA), Pauline Ado (FRA)

Heat 1:
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Oney Anwar (IDN)
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Jack Perry (AUS)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Adam Melling (AUS), Jacob Wilcox (AUS)
Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 9: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Travis Logie (ZAF), Nat Young (USA)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA)
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA)

The Rip Curl Pro is presented by FORD with partners the Victorian Government, Momentum Energy, mophie, Tooheys Extra Dry, Jim Beam, Skullcandy, Red Bull, Telstra, Surf Coast Shire, Surfing Life Magazine, Fuel TV, Ozmosis, Nova, CO2 Australia, Coastalwatch Plus and co-managed by Surfing Victoria.

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives