<-- Pro Surfing News

Top Seeds Excel at the ASP 4-Star Mahalo Surf Eco Festival in Brazil :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News
Bino Lopes led top seeds at the Mahalo Eco Festival.

Bino Lopes led top seeds at the Mahalo Eco Festival.

ITACARE, Bahia / Brazil (Thursday, Oct, 17, 2013) – The ASP 4-Star Mahalo Surf Eco Festival presented by Skol returned to action at Praia da Tiririca in Itacaré, Brazil. Surfers faced fair conditions under cloudy skies, moderate winds and waves in the 2-3 foot range (1 meter). Local surfer and 2011 Mahalo Surf Eco Festival winner Bino Lopes (BRA), earned the highest single wave score of an 8.77 (out of 10) on a huge front-side air-reverse.

“Luckily everything worked out, but I have to admit that I was a little nervous to be competing in my sponsor’s event, at home and in front of all of my family and friends,” stated Bino Lopes. “I was able to relax after I caught a really good wave that just kept opening up and was able to get the high score in my heat.”

Reigning Mahalo Surf Eco Festival champion, Krystian Kymerson (BRA), scored the day’s highest heat total of a 15.17 (out of a possible 20 points) by taking to the air and advanced into the Round of 32 alongside veteran surfer Dunga Neto (BRA).

“I’m stoked to have found some good waves in my heat against stiff competition, but I was able to land some airs and qualify into the next round,” said Krystian Kymerson. “I’ve been training a lot for this contest and my goal is to make it to the finals again and win another title.”

Ex-WCT surfer, Heitor Alves (BRA) was victorious in his heat after being encumbered by a shoulder injury that has kept him out of several events.

“Thank God I’m back in the water,” exclaimed Heitor Alves. “I was hurt for almost two months and it feels so good to be competing again and winning my first heat back. Although I admit I got a little tried from paddling around because of the heavy currents.”

A total of twelve foreign surfers competed in the Round of 64, but only Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Oney Anwar (IND), Francisco Bellorin (VEN) and Dylan Lightfoot (ZAF) advanced in the competition.

“I come from Jeffreys Bay (South Africa) where the wave is completely different from here, but I’ve had a couple of sessions here to adapt to these wave and wind conditions,” said Dylan Lightfoot. “It felt nice to catch some good waves in my heat and pull off the victory against such good competitors, especially the Brazilians that are outstanding in this type of surf.”

A call is set for 9:30 am (local time) tomorrow (Friday) when surfers will continue to battle for crucial ASP World Ranking points and a share of the U$95,000 in prize money at the Mahalo Surf Eco festival. Heat 1 of the Round of 32 will see an all-Brazilian clash with Jean da Silva, Ian Gouveia, Victor Ribas and Leandro Bastos hitting the water.

The Mahalo Surf Eco Festival presented by Skol is produced by Dende Produções and sponsored by Mahalo, Petrobras, Bahiatursa and the City of Itacaré and is supported by Backdoor, the Tourism Institute of Itacaré, the Bahia Surf Federation and the Itacaré Surf Association. The event is approved by the ASP South America as a 4-Star event and is transmitted live on the internet: www.surfecofestival.com.br

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives