<-- Pro Surfing News

Volcom Fiji Pro Round 1 ON HOLD This Morning, Live Surfing Commences at 9am :: Pro Surfing News

Source:: ASP News
Kolohe Andino (USA), 19, will face off against Jeremy Flores (FRA), 25, and Nat Young (USA), 21, in Round 1 of the Volcom Fiji Pro.

Kolohe Andino (USA), 19, will face off against Jeremy Flores (FRA), 25, and Nat Young (USA), 21, in Round 1 of the Volcom Fiji Pro.

CLOUDBREAK, Tavarua/Fiji (Tuesday, June 4, 2013) - Round 1 of the Volcom Fiji Pro is ON HOLD this morning with a slowly building swell beginning to fill in at the primary venue of Cloudbreak.

Stop No. 4 of 10 on the ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), Volcom Fiji Pro event officials will monitor conditions throughout the morning for a potential start for Round 1 of competition.

“We’re going to place competition on hold this morning and monitor conditions over the next few hours,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. “Conditions have cleaned up and we’re going to see if the building swell fills in enough to get Round 1 underway.”

Surfline, official forecasters for the Volcom Fiji Pro, are calling for:

New, long period SW swell will fill in through the day on Tuesday as the shorter period SSE swell continues to fade. The SW groundswell continues on Wednesday. A solid, mid period SW swell will build in for Thursday before easing Friday with moderate SE trades. Smaller, but still good size, SW swells are on the long range radar for Sunday and Tuesday.

When competition commences, up first will be Jordy Smith (ZAF), 25, Sebastian Zietz (HAW), 24, and Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 31, in the opening heat of Round 1.

While officials continue to assess conditions, the VQS will be webcast LIVE via volcomfijipro.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Jordy Smith (ZAF), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 3: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Mitch Coleborn (AUS)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Alex Gray (USA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Aca Lalabalavu (FIJ)
Heat 7: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Kai Otton (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 8: Julian Wilson (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Glenn Hall (AUS)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Nat Young (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 12: Adrian Buchan (AUS), John John Florence (HAW), Brett Simpson (USA)

Pro Surfing Store

Pro Surfing Archives